World at War

The World at War, 3rd Edition Rules Version 3.2

World at War 3.2 Rules

The World at War 1939-1945
3rd Edition(3.2)
1.0 UNITS: 3
1.1 Infantry 3
1.2 Factories 3
1.3 Battleships 3
1.4 Cruisers 3
1.5 Paratroopers 3
1.6 Cost Changes 4
1.7 Anti-Aircraft Guns 4
1.8 Artillery 4
2.1 Allies 5
2.2 Axis 5
2.3 Liberating countries 5
3.1 America 5
3.2 Britain 6
3.3 All others 6
5.1 Sequence of play 7
6.1 Declaration of War 7
6.2 Axis Germany 7
6.3 Italy 7
6.4 Romania 7
6.5 German Surrender 8
6.6 German-Russian Treaties 8
6.7 Hitler Assassination 8
6.8 SS Panzers 8
6.9 SS Panzergrenadiers 8
6.10 German U-Boat Pens 8
6.11 German Blitzkrieg 9
7.0 JAPAN 10
7.1 Declarations of War 10
7.2 Sino-Soviet Pact 10
7.3 Thailand 10
7.4 Sneak Attack 10
7.5 Banzai Attack 10
7.6 Kamikaze Attack 10
7.7 Home Defense 11
7.8 Japanese Surrender 11
8.1 Declarations of War 11
8.2 Conquest of Britain 11
8.3 France 11
8.4 Fall of France, and Vichy France 12
8.5 Treatment of Vichy Territories 12
8.6 Belgium and the Netherlands 13
8.7 British Home Defense 13
9.1 Declarations of War 13
9.2 National Guard 13
9.3 Marines and Rangers 13
9.4 Armored Infantry 14
9.5 Transports 14
9.6 Peace Time Production 14
9.7 Surrender 14
9.8 China 14
9.9 Chinese Infantry 14
10.0 RUSSIA 15
10.1 Declarations of War 15
10.2 Limited production 16
10.3 Russian Purges 16
10.4 Russian Factories 16
10.5 Conquest of Russia & Scorched Earth 16
10.6 Partisans 17
10.7 Russian Guards 17
11.1 Technology Development 17
11.2 Heavy Bombers 17
11.3 Rockets 18
12.1 Armor Blitz 18
12.2 Neutral Ships 18
13.1 Switzerland 19
13.2 Sweden 19
13.3 Poland 19
13.4 Finland 19
13.5 Saudi Arabia 19
13.6 Iraq, Spain and Turkey 19
13.7 British restrictions 20
13.8 U.S. influence 20
13.9 Chile and Argentina 20

1.1 Infantry
Normal infantry units may be built on any owned area without the need for factories under the following conditions:
1. The area must have a point value.
2. The player must have owned the area at the beginning of the player’s turn.
3. Only regular infantry may be built (no special infantry types like SS, guards, paratroopers, etc. are allowed).
4. The cost of built infantry is the normal cost.
5. The number of infantry that can be placed on an area is limited to the point value of the area.
EXAMPLE: Karelia has a point value of two. The player owning Karelia may build up to two infantry on Karelia per turn, without having to build a factory there.

1.2 Factories
Factories may only be built in areas that have a printed point value. A factory allows the owning player to build a number of units on the area equal to the value of the area. The built units can be of any type, including infantry, and can be in addition to infantry placed on an area explained in 1.1 above.
EXAMPLE: Russia has a point value of 8 and a factory on it. The Russian player could place 8 units of any type on Russia (including infantry) in addition to 8 infantry that he could place under the Infantry rule 1.1 above, so he could theoretically place up to 16 infantry, or 8 infantry plus 8 other units of any type.

1.3 Battleships
It takes 2 hits to sink a Battleship. Once hit, a Battleship is turned on its side to show that it is damaged. A Battleship that has been hit once has an attack value of zero, defends on a 3, and moves normally. Damaged battleships may not perform shore bombardment. The reduced capabilities of a battleship take effect at the end of the combat round in which it took the hit, unless the hit was inflicted by a submarine, in which case the effect is immediate.
Example: If a battleship is defending and takes a hit, it would fire back on a 4 or less that round. However if the hit was inflicted by a submarine, submarine’s first strike capability would mean that the battleship would have been hit before it could fire back and it would only be able to defend on the value of 3 or less, representing its damaged status.

Battleships may be repaired if they are in or move to a friendly land/sea area. The land/sea area does not need to have a factory or a printed point value. Repairs can only be made during the owning player’s turn and only during the build units portion of the phase, on the turn a battleship is repaired it may not move as it is considered in port being repaired.

Repairing a battleship happens at the beginning of the build units phase. The player wishing to repair a battleship must have 12 IPCs on hand before attempting the repairs. The roll of two dice is the total IPC cost of repairing a battleship and is paid before purchasing new units. Once the dice are rolled, the player must pay the IPCs for the repairs.

1.4 Cruisers
Cruisers represent formations of escort ships, cruisers and destroyers. Cruisers attack on a 2, defend on a 3 and have a movement of 2 areas. Cruisers take 1 hit to sink and may not be repaired. Cruisers may perform shore bombardment scoring hits on die rolls of 2 or less.

1.5 Paratroopers
Any major power (excluding France and China) may purchase paratroopers at a cost of 1 IPC more than regular infantry. Each Major Power may have no more than 4 paratroopers in play at any given time. Paratroopers may be

rebuilt if they are eliminated. Paratroopers must be built on industrial complexes.

Paratroopers may be transported and dropped off by bombers, which can each carry a paratrooper during combat or non combat movement if they did not perform a bombing mission or attack for that turn. Both the bomber and the paratrooper must have started the turn in the same area (the bomber cannot fly to an area, pick up a paratrooper, then fly to another area to drop it off). If a bomber that is transporting a paratrooper is destroyed then the paratrooper is also eliminated.

Paratroopers can be represented either by using the alternate infantry provided with World at War, or by using a regular infantry and placing a control marker under it.

Paratroopers have a movement of 1 and attack and defend on a 2 or less.

EXAMPLE: On Germany’s turn 5, the German player decides to use his 2 bombers to transport 2 paratroopers. Both the bombers and paratroopers start the turn on Germany. The German player decides to drop off the paratroopers on Orel and Komi, which are held by Russia but have no troops on them, conquering both areas and returning the bombers to German held Poland.

1.6 Cost Changes
Some cost changes have been made for better historical accuracy. By looking at the new set up charts, we can see that the basic costs (ranging from infantry to ships) will vary from nation to nation. This allows for more historical accuracy based on the economic and social conditions of each nation.

1.7 Anti-Aircraft Guns (A/A guns)
A/A Guns may also be used as Anti Tank guns, but never as both in the same round. When used as Anti Tank Guns, tanks rather than air units are targeted. The defending player must declare how his A/A guns are to be directed before the start of combat. A/A guns fire each round.

Only one A/A gun can be used in an area at a time, if there is more than one, although the extra A/A guns cannot fire, they can be used to satisfy combat losses. A/A guns may be destroyed in order to satisfy a combat loss.

Except when defending against a strategic bombing attack, A/A guns fire at the same time as all other defending units.

1.8 Artillery
A/A guns may also be used as artillery when attacking by moving them into an area being attacked. A/A guns may move and fire as artillery. When used as artillery, A/A guns attack on a 1 and may only destroy infantry and are treated as normal units.

A/A guns always defend as Anti Air or Anti Tank Guns and may not defend as artillery.

2.1 Allies
American, British, French and Chinese units may share the same areas. The use of a Multi National Force, other than these, for making an attack is prohibited. No allied units are allowed to share the same area with Russian units, nor may allied units fly over Russian areas. Allied ships may move through sea zones containing Russian ships but may not end their movement in the same sea zone as Russian ships. Any time an allied unit shares the same area with a Russian unit, any or all allied units are considered interned and removed from play. The Russian player immediately collects from the bank one (1) IPC for each unit removed. This reflects any salvageable material that the Russians can use.

French forces are considered as British forces at all times. The British player conducts the French and British turns simultaneously and a combined force can be used to make an attack.

When attacking a Multi National Force, the attacker always has the option to declare which defending side will remove casualties first.

2.2 Axis
Japanese and German forces may share the same area and defend as a Multi National Force as explained in 2.1 above.

2.2 Liberating countries
Whenever an Allied player conquers an area that originally belonged to another allied player at the start of the game the country is considered liberated and ownership is immediately transferred to the original owner. The only exception to this is if the conqueror is Russia.

Russia is unique and that it is actually an un-cooperative ally. In truth the war could be called Axis, Allies & Russia. Historically it was the Russians who gained vast territories and major concessions from the allies as well as a defeated axis.

The Russian player never liberates a country or a colony for an allied player. The Russian player must keep whatever he recaptures or conquers. If an allied player liberates a Russian area, the area reverts to Russian control and all allied units on the area are interned as explained in 2.1 above.

EXAMPLE: Germany has conquered Karelia on its turn and has 2 German infantry on Karelia. Britain uses two transports on Britain to transport 4 infantry to attack Karelia, accompanied by a bomber that was also stationed on Britain. After a couple of rounds of combat Britain defeats the 2 German infantry and has 2 British infantry left and the British bomber. The bomber flies back to Britain, the area is liberated and becomes Russian, and the 2 British infantry are interned and removed from play. The Russian player then gets 1 IPC per interned unit, so the Russian player collects 2 IPCs from the bank for the 2 interned British infantry.

3.1 America
Until the U.S. is at war it may only give aid to the Allies in the form of money. The U.S. player may give “lend lease” money to any allied nation that is at war with the axis. However any money being given to an allied player is subject to axis intervention. One of the axis players rolls a die for each allied player receiving Lend Lease.

· On a roll of 1: all the money that was being given to that nation is lost and returned to the bank.
· On a roll of 2: half the money is lost (round up).
· On a roll of 3: one third of the money is lost (round up).
· On a roll of 4-6: all the money is safe.

The U.S. player may only make one attempt to each nation per turn and only if that nation is at war with one or both of the axis powers. For example, so long as Russia is neutral it cannot receive U.S. lend lease money. The U.S. player may never spend more than half of his national production (the amount of IPCs he collected on his last turn) on lend lease (Round up).

3.2 Britain
Britain may only give Lend Lease to the French. The amount may never exceed 10 IPC's and is subject to axis intervention and a die roll, as in 3.1 for each attempt.

3.3 All others
No other nations may give lend lease to another nation.


Strategic movement is in the form of rail capacity with each nation having its own rail capacity. Strategic movement takes place during the Non-Combat portion of a player’s turn. This rail movement of land based units is unlimited in distance, provided that the player can trace a line through friendly held land areas that is un-interrupted by any enemy areas, does not cross a neutral border, and does not cross a sea area. The Suez Canal and Panama Canals do not block rail movement.

Only units that did not move during combat movement are eligible to use rail movement.

Germany has a rail capacity of 4 usable in Europe and Asia.
Japan has a rail capacity of 2 usable in Asia.
Britain has a rail capacity of 2 usable in Asia, Africa and Europe.
U.S. has a rail capacity of 6 usable in the Western Hemisphere.
China has a rail capacity of 2, limited to Chinese areas only.
Russia has a rail capacity of 3, usable in Russia. 1 of the 3 can also be used in Europe.
France uses British rails.

The U.S. and Britain/France may use one another’s rails. The rail capacity of a country is the amount usable for that player’s turn only, which means that during the same game turn Britain could use up to 2 rail movement, and the U.S. could also use the British rails on its turn and rail 2 U.S. units.

Europe consists of Poland, Rumania and everything West of those areas. Africa is all of the African continent up to Egypt. Asia is all of Russia, as well as everything east of Trans Jordan, all the way to Malaya and up to Kamchatka. China is included in Asia, and refers to all original Chinese owned areas. The Western Hemisphere is North and South America.

5.1 Sequence of play:
The order of battle for each game turn is determined for each nation as follows:

1. GERMANY (Has two impulses on the first turn only.)
2. BRITAIN and France and their minor allies.
3. JAPAN (May use two impulses as a surprise attack.)
5. UNITED STATES and China.

6.1 Declaration of War
Germany starts the game by being at war with Britain, France and Poland.

Germany may declare war on the U.S., Russia and China at any time. Germany may invade any neutral country at any time and does not pay any IPC cost for invading neutrals, except for Switzerland. (See Switzerland)

6.2 Axis Germany
Axis Germany consists of the combined countries of Germany and its minor Axis allies Italy and Romania. Romania, due to map board restrictions, includes Bulgaria and Hungary. There are some restrictions as to the use of these Axis Minors as explained below, however these restrictions do not affect the IPC's that Germany is to receive for having these areas under German control.

There are also some penalties that the Germans suffer during First Time allied invasions of these axis minors as explained below.

6.3 Italy
German forces in Italy (including the Italian fleet of ships on Italy), Libya and Italian East Africa (including the transport ship) may not be moved, or attack until France has been conquered. They may defend normally. They are activated immediately on the turn that France falls. Should France fall on Germany’s first impulse, Italian units and ships may be used as of the second impulse.

The first time that Italy has been conquered by an Allied player, the German player must pay 4 IPC's to the conquering player and 3 German infantry units must be eliminated. The German player decides which Infantry is to be eliminated.

6.4 Romania
Axis forces in Romania may not be moved or attack until Germany declares war on Russia. They may defend normally. Additional forces may not be built there unless at war with Russia. German units may pass through freely, provided their movement does not end in Romania. Once Germany is at war with Russia these restrictions no longer apply.

Russia may attack Romania prior to game turn 5. However Russia must pay Germany 25 IPC's in reparations imme-

diately if it does so.

If at war with Russia and the first time that Romania is conquered, the German player must pay 3 IPC's to the conquering player and 2 German infantry must be eliminated. The German player decides which infantry is to be removed. This penalty is not suffered before Germany is at war with Russia and Romania is neutral.

6.5 German Surrender
Germany does not surrender as long as Italy remains active. The first time Germany is conquered by the Allies, the German player must pay half of his IPC's immediately to the conquering player and remove four of his infantry. The German player decides which infantry units are to be destroyed.

6.6 German-Russian Treaties
Until Germany declares war on Russia, or the beginning of game turn 5, Germany receives an additional 5 IPC's per game turn. This represents vital resources that were important to the German war effort.

6.7 Hitler Assassination
Once during the game the German player may attempt to assassinate Hitler by making a die roll;
· On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful and Germany gets a permanent 5 IPC increase per turn for the remainder of the Game.
· On a roll of 3-5 there is no result.
· On a roll of 6 the German player must immediately destroy and remove from play 2 infantry units and 2 armor units. The German player decides which units are to be eliminated.

The assassination attempt may only be made once. The German player decides if and when to make the attempt. The roll does not have to be made nor is there a turn limit when the attempt can be made. When the attempt is made it is done during the build phase of the German player’s turn.

6.8 SS Panzers:
Beginning on the third game turn the German player may build up to 4 armor units as SS Panzers. The SS Panzers can only be built on factory sites and cost 6 IPCs each to build. SS Panzers have an attack factor of 4 and defend on a 5. They may be rebuilt if they are destroyed but there can never be more than 4 SS Panzers in play at any time.

6.9 SS Panzergrenadiers
Beginning on the second game turn, the German player may build 6 infantry as SS Panzergrenadiers. SS Panzergrenadiers may only be built on Factory Sites and cost 4 IPCs each to build. SS Panzergrenadiers have an attack factor of 2, defend on a 3 and movement of 2 areas. They may be rebuilt if they are destroyed but there can never be more than 6 SS Panzergrenadiers in play at any time.

6.10 German U-Boat Pens
For a cost of 6 IPC's each the German player may build and place U-Boat pens. The pen must be built on a factory site and on a coastal area. Once placed the pen may not be moved. The pen has a permanent A/A capacity that is used to defend subs and other naval units from attacking aircraft. The pen may only be used against attacking aircraft.

Combat is treated like a normal A/A gun, except that the pen defends on a 2. Each hit scored by attacking aircraft causes one loss to a submarine. A hit scored by attacking aircraft on an empty pen, damages the pen. It takes 2 hits to destroy a pen. A damaged pen may be repaired at a cost of 3 IPC’s. Any number of pens may be built, but only one may be placed on an area.

Only the German player may build sub pens and he may use other colors that are available.

a) Moving into/out of a sub pen: For movement purposes sub pens are considered a part of the sea zone they are built in, and do not require a movement point to enter, leave, etc. For all other purposes, sub pens are considered a separate sea zone/coastal area unto themselves.

b) A sub pen (and the subs within) can only be attacked by aircraft (follow 6.11 rules).

c) Any other friendly or enemy ships have no effect on attacking, defending, etc with regards to the sub pen.
Example: Germany has a sub pen with 2 subs in it on France, and a cruiser (all in the same sea zone). Britain decides to attack the sea zone with 2 battleships and a sub. Britain can only attack the cruiser since sub pens (and the subs within) cannot be attacked by ships. Germany defends with only the cruiser (the subs in the pen cannot assist).

d) If the land area a sub pen is adjacent to is conquered by enemy forces, the sub pen is immediately destroyed.

e) Sub pens fire each round, like an A/A gun hitting on a 2 or less, against aircraft only. A Sub pen can hold up to 2 submarines.

6.11 German Blitzkrieg
In order to simulate German surprises and earlier successes, the German player starts the game with two impulses. The German player must use his two impulse moves on the first turn. It may not be used thereafter or in any other game turn. Beginning on game turn two Germany resorts to normal turn sequences.

1. German player pays for builds.
2. German player makes his combat moves.
3. German player makes his attacks.
4. If France falls on the first impulse, resolve Vichy Rule immediately.
5. German player makes any non-combat moves with
only those units that did not previously move.
6. German player places his builds. If the German player declared war on Russia he may place any number of builds in Rumania. If France fell on the first impulse then the German player may place units in Italy and Italian territories.
7. End of first impulse.
1. German player may move any or all of his pieces again. If France fell on the first impulse the German player may use and move Italian pieces and attack.
2. German player makes any additional attacks.
3. German player makes any additional non-combat moves with any unit that did not move during the second impulse.
4. The German player now adjusts the IPC level accordingly and collects his money from the bank.
5. End of second impulse.

Note: On the second impulse, aircraft can land on areas captured and owned at the end of the first impulse.
7.1 Declarations of War
Japan starts the game at war with China. The Chinese conflict is not a declaration of war against the U.S., Britain (and her Allies), nor Russia.

Japan may attack any major power any turn, except for Russia. Japan may attack any neutral country it wishes and does not have to pay any IPC cost when doing so.

7.2 Sino-Soviet Pact
Japan may not attack Russia until the sixth game turn. If Russia should declare war on Japan on the fifth game turn, all Japanese Infantry defending against Russian attacks defend on a 3 for that turn.

7.3 Thailand
Japanese Forces in Thailand may not move or attack until Japan is at war with a major power.

If attacked first, the Japanese units defend normally. The Japanese player may not place builds in Thailand until Japan declares war on a major power.

7.4 Sneak Attack
Japan may do one two-impulse attack. This attack may be used on any turn but it can only be done once during the game. There is no game turn limit as to when it must be used and it may be postponed indefinitely. Follow the same two-impulse sequence as described in Germany (See ). The 2 pulse sneak attack counts as one Japanese turn, and not as two separate turns for purposes of Banzais and Kamikazi limitations.

7.5 Banzai Attack
The Japanese player can make up to three “Banzai Attacks” per turn, allowing participating infantry units to attack on a 2 for one round of combat only.

At the end of his Combat Movement the Japanese player places up to 3 Japanese control markers on areas he is attacking. Each control marker placed represents one banzai attack. More than one banzai attack can be used on the same area.

Once a Banzai Attack has been declared the Japanese player must see the attack to a conclusion and he is not allowed to call off the attack in that area, this includes any non infantry units participating in the attack.

EXAMPLE: The Japanese player attacks a Chinese area with 5 infantry. He chooses to use a “Banzai Attack” on the first round of combat, so all his infantry attacking this area hit on a 2 or less for that round of combat, and must fight until the area is conquered or the attacking force is destroyed (there can be no retreat).

7.6 Kamikaze Attack

The Japanese player may perform one Kamikaze Attack per turn on a target of his choosing at no additional cost. The fighter or bomber performing the attack may use up all of its movement to reach the target and gets one round of combat and attacks on a five or less. The Kamikaze Fighter or Bomber is then destroyed and removed from play.

If a hit occurs, the target chosen by the Japanese player must be destroyed and removed from play. Or in the case of a Battleship, one hit of damage must be inflicted immediately.

7.7 Home Defense
All Japanese infantry defending the Island of Japan defend on a 3.

7.8 Japanese Surrender
Japan surrenders when an Allied player successfully occupies Japan. All surviving naval, air, and ground units may continue fighting and attempt to retake Japan during the next Japanese turn phase. If no such attempt can be made, or if it fails, then all surviving Japanese forces are removed from play and Japan must surrender all IPC's to the conquering player.

8.1 Declarations of War
Britain starts the game at war with Germany. Britain may not attack Japan unless attacked first by the Japanese, or until game turn 6.

Until Britain is formally at war with Japan, British and Japanese ships may move through each other’s sea zones, though the British player may not end the movement of any ships in any Japanese areas that contain a factory.

Until Britain is at war with Japan no British units may be moved into the East Indies or East Indies sea zone to bolster the Dutch defenses there.

8.2 Conquest of Britain
If Britain itself is conquered by the Axis the British player must pay 10 IPC's (or everything he has if he does not have 10 IPCs) to the conqueror and adjust his IPC level by 8. The British player then announces a government in exile, and establishes a new capitol in Canada, Australia, South Africa or India. If the new Capitol is conquered Britain does not pay a 10 IPC penalty to the conqueror again. Upon the establishment of the new capitol, the new area becomes worth twice its printed value. Britain is only conquered if these four commonwealth countries are also conquered.

8.3 France
The British player controls all of France and her colonies and minor allies (Belgium and the Netherlands) unless there is a sixth or seventh player. Money belonging to the French must be kept separately and can only be used to build French troops in areas controlled by the free French and France’s minor ally’s territories. The French and British turns are conducted simultaneously and considered one country when attacking, moving and so on. France and Britain may use each other’s transports to transport troops.

8.4 Fall of France, and Vichy France
The first time Germany conquers France, the British player must give Germany 3 IPC's from the French money and lower France's IPC level accordingly.

The British player then rolls a die for each of the two French Fleets located (fleet means all the ships on the sea area) in the Atlantic and in the Mediterranean. On a roll of 1 the French fleet joins the Axis. On a roll of 2-4 the fleet is scuttled and removed from play. On a roll of 5 the fleet becomes Vichy French and immediately moved to the nearest sea zone bordered by a Vichy land area, if there are two areas that are equally close, then the Axis player chooses which one the ships will be moved to. On a roll of 6 the fleet is Free French, but under British control and French pieces are replaced with British pieces.

The British player then rolls a die for each French territory below that is not already controlled by the Axis. On a roll of 1-3 the Territory becomes Vichy, and on a roll of 4-6 the territory remains Free French.

Morocco, Algeria, French West Africa, French Equatorial Africa, Madagascar, Syria, French Indo-China, the Mauritius Islands, the Fiji Islands and the Society Islands.

The German player then places German Control markers on all Vichy territories in Africa, the Middle East and Indian Ocean and removes any non French Forces from play, and adjusts his IPC level accordingly.

The Japanese player would then do the same for French Indo-China and any Islands in the Pacific Ocean.

The British player then makes the adjustments to the French IPC level, subtracting the points for any territories that France may have lost. If all French areas are conquered, all French IPCs are given to the bank.

8.5 Treatment of Vichy Territories
Although the Axis players get IPCs each turn from the Vichy territories, they are never allowed to build troops there, nor may the Axis troops pass through or fly over a Vichy territory. If a Vichy territory is attacked by an Allied player and not captured the Axis replaces the Vichy units with his own and the area becomes fully Axis owned, allowing for building of units, flying over the area, etc. However, this only affects those areas that are attacked and not captured by an Allied Player.

Vichy territories recaptured by British, Free French or U.S. forces are considered liberated and resort to Free French.

If for any reason any Vichy territory or ships are attacked by an Axis player, all Vichy territories and ships resort to Free French.

Vichy troops defend as normal no matter who is attacking. Vichy forces may not move during the game. Vichy naval units are considered neutral (see 12.2) and never block a sea zone, allowing other naval units of all countries to pass through them or remain in the sea zone freely.

If an Allied player captures a Vichy land area and the land area has an adjacent Vichy fleet, and there are no other adjacent Vichy areas to the fleet, then the fleet becomes Free French.

Japan may attempt to influence French Indo-China any time during its turn if a Vichy government has been established there by paying 2 IPC's to the bank and rolling one die. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful, all forces come under Japanese control and can be used immediately. Replace Vichy forces

with Japanese Forces. Japan may only make one attempt per turn.

8.6 Belgium and the Netherlands
Belgian IPC's may only be used by the French player and French units are used the represent Belgian units, including the Belgian colony of Belgian Congo in Africa.

The French player uses the Dutch IPC’s and French units are used to represent Dutch units. The Dutch fleet in the Pacific (off the coast of East Indies) may not be moved until Japan is at war with the U.S. or Britain, or turn 5.

Dutch East Indies, Java, Borneo-Celebes and New Guinea.

8.7 British Home Defense
If Britain itself is invaded British infantry and fighters located on Britain defend at a 3 for the infantry and 5 for the fighters.

9.1 Declarations of War
The U.S. may not attack the Axis powers prior to game turn 6 unless it is attacked first. Certain attacks by the axis can prompt the U.S. into the war earlier as explained below. The Japan-China conflict has no bearing on an American entry into the war, however China is eligible for lend lease aid from the U.S.

The U.S. is immediately at war with Germany and Japan if Germany attacks any territory in North and South America or it Japan attacks any U.S., British, French, Belgian or Dutch territories or ships.

The U.S. may not invade any neutral countries. Instead, the U.S. may attempt to persuade certain neutral countries to join the U.S. through the use of “Economic Aid”. (See 13.8)

While neutral the U.S. player may not hamper or interfere with axis naval or ground units. While neutral the U.S. player cannot move any U.S. units into British, French or Chinese areas.

No U.S. fleet movement is allowed in any land/sea area that contains an axis factory. For all intents and purposes the axis player can to ignore and pass through any U.S. fleet while the U.S. is neutral. While the U.S. is neutral the U.S. player may not close off the Panama Canal to an axis player.

9.2 National Guard
The First time that either the Eastern U.S., Western U.S., Alaska or Hawaii are attacked by an Axis player, the U.S. player automatically activates the national guard at no cost. Up to six guard units may be placed on either the Eastern or Western U.S. Once activated, they are treated as normal infantry.

9.3 Marines and Rangers
Beginning on Game turn 5, once per turn during an amphibious assault the U.S. player may designate up to 4 infantry

as either Marines or Rangers at no cost. Marines and Rangers attack on a 2. Units designated as such revert back to normal Infantry after the attack.

9.4 Armored Infantry
Beginning on game turn 5 the U.S. player may build up to 6 Infantry as Armored Infantry at an additional cost of 1 IPC each. They must be built on a factory site. Armored infantry have a movement of 2, attack on a 2 and defend on a 3 and may be rebuilt if destroyed. The U.S. player may never have more than 6 armored infantry units in play at any time.

9.5 Transports
Beginning on game turn 5, the U.S. player may designate two transports to act as special transports, enabling them to carry 1 infantry and 1 armor at the same time. For transport purposes, an armored infantry unit counts as an armor unit.

9.6 Peace Time Production
Until the U.S. is at war or game turn 6, the U.S. only receives 17 IPC's per turn, which may only be used for lend lease (up to half of the IPCs rounded up) or economic conquest. The U.S. is not obligated to spend all or any of the IPCs and may save them for future turns.

9.7 Surrender
The U.S. surrenders when an axis player has conquered both Western and Eastern U.S.. The Axis receives an immediate victory if the U.S. surrenders.

9.8 China
Unless there is a Chinese player, China is controlled by the U.S. The U.S. player must keep all Chinese money separate from U.S. money and no U.S. money can be used to build troops in China unless sent to China through lend lease. All lend leased money is subject to axis intervention (see 3.1). Money lend leased to China by the U.S. can be used immediately by China during the build units phase. Chinese money may not be given to the U.S. or used for U.S. builds.

The U.S. may send and maintain up to 1 fighter aircraft in China. This unit is considered to be an all-volunteer Chinese force for all intents and purposes and in no way reflects U.S. and Japanese relations if it is destroyed. If destroyed, the U.S. player may transfer another "Volunteer" fighter to China. The volunteer fighter may land anywhere in Asia at which point it is removed and replaced with a Chinese fighter, and must land in China on its next turn. The volunteer fighter cannot attack any areas unaccompanied by other Chinese units.

If all Chinese areas are conquered, China keeps it’s IPCs but may only use them to build units once an area is liberated.

9.9 Chinese Infantry
When attacking, Chinese infantry must make a morale check to see how many attack each area. One die roll is made

for each area being attacked. This roll is made after combat movement, and before actual combat takes place. The U.S. player rolls a die for the results;

MORALE TABLE: (Round up)
On a roll of 1: The attack is cancelled and all units retreat.
On a roll of 2: Only 20% of the infantry participate.
On a roll of 3: Only 40% of the infantry participate
On a roll of 4: Only 60% of the infantry participate
On a roll of 5: Only 80% of the infantry participate
On a roll of 6: All but one infantry participate

Units that failed the morale roll must move to an adjacent friendly held Chinese area. Only Chinese infantry is required to make the participation roll. The U.S. volunteer fighter, or any other types of Chinese units do not make the roll. Chinese units that were moved to attack and had to retreat due to the Morale roll may not move during non combat movement. Chinese infantry may never attack outside of China, except for Manchuria and Korea.

If an attack is cancelled (Morale die roll of 1) then any non infantry units that were going to attack do not attack either.

EXAMPLE: China launches an attack on a Japanese held Shensi from Hopeh and Kwangsi. Japan has 2 infantry on Shensi, which are attacked by 3 Chinese infantry from Hopeh and 3 Chinese infantry, 1 tank and 1 fighter from Kwangsi. China makes the morale roll for the attack and gets a 5. 80% of the 6 infantry may attack (which works out to 4.8 rounded up to 5), so 5 infantry attack along with the tank and fighter. One of the attacking infantry is moved back to either Hopeh or Kwangsi.

1. Cost 2 IPC's
2. Move normally
3. Attack on 1.
4. Defend on a 2 or less.
5. Requires a morale roll when attacking.

10. 0 RUSSIA
10.1 Declarations of War
Until game turn 5 Russia cannot attack Germany or Japan, unless Germany attacks Russia first, then Russia is at war with Germany and may attack Germany (but not Japan until turn 5 as per the Sino-Soviet pact, 7.2).

Russia may not attack any Chinese owned areas, nor may Russia move into or attack an allied area belonging to the U.S., Britain, China or France.

Russia may attack any neutral country at no IPC cost. Russia may not receive lend lease until at war with an axis power.

While neutral, the Russian player may not hinder or impede axis naval movement or builds.

10.2 Limited production
Until Russia is attacked by Germany or turn 5, Russia only gets 16 IPCs per turn regardless of its IPC level. Attacking a neutral country, Finland or Romania does not put Russia on a wartime level, only an attack by Germany or Japan can, or game turn 5.

10.3 Russian Purges
On the first game turn that Germany declares war on Russia, Russia is limited to only one counter attack (Russia may only attack one area on its turn). This attack may come from one or more area, but only one area may be attacked and it must be a German area (not Japanese). However, Russia does get an immediate one time bonus of 20 IPC's. Some or all of these IPCs may be used to purchase units that are placed before the combat movement portion of the Russian player’s turn, and they may move and be used in combat. IPCs not spent to purchase units immediately may be added to Russia’s regular IPCs and used as normal IPCs in the future.

Units purchased an placed using the 20 IPCs must abide by placement limitations, but do not also count towards placement limitations of normal units placed at the end of the turn.

Example: Using Karelia as an example, which has a value of 2, the Russian player could purchase and place 2 infantry on Karelia at the beginning of his turn using part of the purge 20 IPCs, and the Russian player could place an additional 2 infantry on Karelia at the end of its turn.

10.4 Russian Factories
Russian Factories may move during Non Combat Movement. They are allowed to move 2 areas and not build, or move 1 area and do 1 build. The movement of factories cost 1 Rail Capacity per factory. Russia may self-destruct any factory he owns at any time in the game, even while an area is being attacked by enemy forces. Russian factories may move through areas that already have a Russian factory on them but may not remain there. There can never be more than one Russian factory on an area at the end of Russia’s turn.

10.5 Conquest of Russia and Scorched Earth
Russia never surrenders. If Russia falls into axis hands the Russian player designates a new capitol. The new capitol must be in an un-conquered area. The new capitol is then worth 8 IPC's and the old area is worth 1 IPC, or the old area reverts to its normal value if the area was not Russia itself. Regardless of the distance, the factory is moved to the new capitol. However, the Russian player may make no rail movement for the turn on which the capitol is moved.

If no suitable site is found for a new capitol, the factory is destroyed and the Russian player is then limited to building only partisans (see 10.7) until its partisans or another allied player liberates an area, at which point the liberated area becomes worth 8 IPCs and the Russian player may purchase a new factory (if he has enough IPCs).

The axis players receive no IPC's from the Russian player upon conquering a Russian capitol.

EXAMPLE: Germany conquers Russia and Russia chooses to move its capitol and factory to Soviet Far East. Russia then becomes worth only 1 IPC, and Soviet Far East becomes worth 8 IPCs. Later that game turn, Japan conquers Soviet Far East and Russia is again forced to move its capitol, this time choosing to move it to Kamchatka. Soviet Far East reverts to its original value of 2, and Kamchatka is now worth 8 IPCs. The next turn Japan hunts down the last Russian areas and Russia no longer has an area to move its capitol to, and so its factory is destroyed. Several

turns later British forces manage to liberate Karelia. Karelia then becomes worth 8 IPCs.

10.6 Partisans
Russia and only Russia is allowed to build partisan units. Partisans cost 1 IPC, may not move and they may not attack. Partisans defend on a 1.

Partisans may only be placed on vacated areas under axis control, but never outside of Russia. Only 1 Partisan unit may be built per area per turn. Whenever an area has two partisans they may link up to form one normal Russian infantry. Partisans block axis rail movement through the areas that have Russian partisans in them. Partisans can be represented on the map board by placing a Russian infantry unit atop a Russian control marker.

Partisans that linked up to form a normal Russian infantry unit may be used to recapture the territory they are on if it is vacant. Partisans are removed from play whenever a normal Russian unit enters the same area as them.

10.7 Russian Guards
Beginning with Game turn 5, the Russian player is allowed to build up to 4 infantry as Guards. Guards cost an additional 1 IPC each and must be built at a factory. Guards attack on a 2 and defend on a 3 and have a movement allowance of 2. They may be rebuilt if destroyed.

11.1 Technology development
Tech rolls may be made at a cost of 7 IPC's for each Tech Roll. Each player may attempt to obtain only 1 technology per turn however, more than one attempt for that technology may be made. The player must state which technology he is making the attempt for and immediately pays the IPCs to the bank before making the roll.

The U.S. and Russia may not make technology rolls while they are neutral.

Industrial Technology does not lower the cost of building Infantry, paratroopers, marines and rangers.

Once a certain technology has been discovered, any player may have that technology on the very next turn by simply paying 10 IPC's to the bank for developing costs.

EXAMPLE: The U.S. Player makes a tech roll of Heavy Bombers on turn 4. On turn 5 any player, including the Axis players may build Heavy Bombers providing they pay the one time 10 IPC developing cost.

11.2 Heavy Bombers
Each Nation cannot have more than two Heavy Bombers. They may be rebuilt if they are destroyed. Heavy bombers attack and bomb using three dice instead of one.

Heavy Bombers must be replenished after each use. It cost 5 IPC’s to re-arm a Heavy Bomber. Heavy Bombers are replenished at the start of the player’s turn, when the IPC's are spent, and need not be at a factory.

Heavy Bombers are treated as normal bombers if the 5 IPC point cost for re-arming is not paid.

Heavy Bombers may be used to transport two (2) Paratroop Units without having to pay the re-arming cost. However, the Heavy Bomber may only perform one mission at a time; they cannot be used for a bombing mission and on the same turn be used to transport paratroopers.

11.3 Rockets
If a player has Rocket technology, instead of using an AA gun to attack an enemy industrial complex, an AA gun may be used as long range artillery. When used this way it can only hit infantry, hits on a 2 or less, and can be used to attack or defend an adjacent area or the area it is on.

Rockets firing from an adjacent area may not be used to satisfy a combat loss. Rockets firing from an adjacent area can only fire if there are infantry units attacking the adjacent area. Rockets may move and fire.


12.1 Armor Blitz
Only tanks may “blitz” unoccupied enemy areas to attack enemy areas two areas away. Special infantry units that have a movement of two, such as Russian Guards, SS Panzergrenadiers and U.S. Armored Infantry may not blitz.

12.2 Neutral ships
Unless otherwise specified, neutral ships may pass through and remain in sea zones containing other country’s ships (and vice versa), but may not end their movement in sea zones containing industrial complexes owned by other countries. If ships are attacked in a sea zone that contains ships that are neutral and also ships belonging to countries that are at war, then the neutral ships do not participate in the battle and are left in the sea zone.

Example: Russia moves its cruiser and transport on the Soviet Far East down into the East Indies sea zone, where a French transport is located. Japan declares war on Britain and France and attacks the transport in the East Indies sea zone with 2 subs. The Russian ships remain in the sea zone and do not participate in the battle. At the end of the battle Japan destroys the French transport and the result is 2 Japanese subs sharing the sea zone with the Russian cruiser and transport since they are not at war with each other.


A failed attack on a neutral country will cause that neutral country and any of its colonies (colonies are shown on the Minor Forces set up chart in brackets next to their names) to join the nearest opposing enemy forces.

EXAMPLE: If the Allies were to attack Spain and fail in the attack, Spain and Rio de Oro would join Germany immediately.

13.1 Switzerland
When invading Switzerland, the German player must pay the bank 10 IPCs and is not allowed to use tanks in the attack. All Swiss infantry defend on a 3.

13.2 Sweden
Historically, Sweden supplied Germany with vital resources and as long as Sweden has not been conquered by an allied player, the German player receives 2 IPC's, per turn from Sweden.

13.3 Poland
If the German player does not conquer Poland at the end of the first game turn, Poland falls under British control and British pieces are used to replace Polish pieces. The British player is then allowed to build there and adjusts his IPC level accordingly.

13.4 Finland
If Finland has not been conquered by the Russian player by the end of Game turn 1, Finland and all of her troops are then under immediate German control. After turn 1 Russia may not attack Finland until Russia is at war with Germany. While neutral Finnish infantry defend on a 3 and inflict twice the number of casualties.

13.5 Saudi Arabia
If Egypt is occupied by an axis player, the British player may attempt to influence Saudi Arabia each turn. The British player pays the bank 1 IPC for the attempt and rolls a die. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful and Saudi Arabia joins the British.

On a successful attempt adjust the IPC level and replace the troops on Saudi Arabia using British pieces.

13.6 Iraq, Spain and Turkey
Whenever Germany’s standing on the income track is at or over 50 IPCs, Germany may attempt to influence Spain into joining the Axis. The attempt can be made once per turn, anytime during the German player’s turn. The German player rolls a die and on a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful. On a successful roll, Spain and all of her armies and territories immediately join the Axis, at no cost.

Only one attempt per game turn may be made.

Note: Use German units for Spanish Troops and adjust the IPC level accordingly if Spain joins Germany.

When adding up the IPC total, the free IPC's that Germany receives from Russia and Sweden count towards this total.

On the game turn that the German player receives 55 or more IPC's, Germany may attempt to influence Turkey in joining the Axis. Apply Spanish rule.

Whenever German forces occupy Egypt, Germany may attempt to influence Iraq in joining the Axis. The attempt can be made anytime during Germany’s turn, so long as Germany occupies Egypt at the time the attempt is made. Apply

Spanish rule.

13.7 British restrictions
When Britain attempts to invade a neutral country the British player must roll a die. The attempt is successful if the number rolled is higher than the printed IPC value of the attacked area, and combat may then occur. If the roll is equal to or less, then the attempt is unsuccessful and the British player must retreat all of the attacking units to an adjacent friendly held area and the British player collects 5 IPCs less for that turn. The British player is then never allowed to invade that neutral country again (if desired, this can be shown by placing an upside down British control marker on the area as a reminder).

Vichy territory’s are not considered neutral territories and can be attacked by Britain with no die roll.

Note: The same restrictions apply to France. In the case of a combined British/French attack on an area, the British player may choose which country collects 5 IPCs less at turn end.

13.8 U.S. influence
The United States may attempt to convince neutral countries located in North and South America to join the U.S. through economic aid under the following rules:

1. Conquest through Economic Aid is limited to the Western hemisphere.
2. The U.S. player announces which minor country, or countries he wishes to gain.
3. The U.S. player then pays the Bank twice the IPC value of the country.
4. The U.S. player then rolls 1 D6. On a result equal to or less than the printed IPC value of the country the roll is successful and that country joins the U.S. with its armed forces (Refer to the minor forces set up chart for the armed forces and use U.S. playing pieces). The U.S. may place builds on countries that joined it through economic aid. Adjust IPC levels accordingly.
5. The German player may intervene in Argentina and Chile. (See Chile and Argentina 13.9)
6. The U.S. may make one attempt per country each turn.

If Germany intervenes and the U.S. does not have enough IPCs to match the Germany IPCs intervening, the U.S. player may not reduce his builds in order to have more IPCs available to match German intervention.

13.9 Chile and Argentina
The German player may exert his influence over these countries and attempt to foil U.S. attempts at influencing these countries to join the U.S. (as explained under the U.S. rules, where the U.S. attempts to convince neutral countries to join it by using economic aid to influence them).

The German player waits until the U.S. player attempts Economic Conquest (see 13.8) of either, or both countries and pays any number of IPC's to the bank. The U.S. player must then match the additional IPC’s or give up the attempt, in which case all the money from both sides is forfeited. If Germany spent IPCs attempting to foil the U.S. attempt, and the U.S. matched the IPC amount, then if the U.S. influence die roll is 6 the country being rolled for joins Germany.

EXAMPLE: Chile is worth 2 IPC’s so the U.S. player must pay 4 IPC's to attempt to influence it. The German player decides he will spend 2 IPC's and pays the bank. The American player must now pay an additional 2 IPC's or give up the attempt. If, the American player pays the 2 IPC's, he may then proceed with the attempt, but with a

greater risk. On a roll of 1-2 the attempt is successful and the American player adds Chile to his Territories, however on a roll of six Chile joins the Axis. The same holds true for Argentina.

Germany may do this at any time the U.S. player makes an attempt to influence Chile or Argentina. Should the German player not attempt to foil the U.S. influence then the U.S. player may make a normal influence roll and does not risk losing Argentina and Chile to the Germans.


The Allies win if both Germany and Japan have been conquered.

Germany and Japan win whenever their combined IPC total is 20 IPCs higher than all of the allies combined.

The Axis will live a thousand years if they conquer Britain and reduce Russia to a partisan state, or if they conquer the U.S.
I. Vlasov’s antibolshevik Russians
On the first turn that Germany attacks Russia and destroys six (6) or more land units of any type, then the German player immediately receives one (1) Infantry Unit that can be placed either in Poland or Romania.

If Germany destroys ten (10) or more Russian Land Units, then Germany receives two (2) Infantry Units that may be placed in either Poland or Romania.

II. The Atom Bomb
Only the five Major Powers may attempt to develop, construct, and deliver atomic weapons.
1. Successful development requires the country to successfully develop Atomic Technology on three separate (but not necessarily consecutive) technology acquisition rolls. Each roll is made on a separate turn. The cost of each roll is determined by section 5 below.

2. Atomic Technology is unlike other technologies in that it is not transferable for 10 IPCs (see 1.70) to all other players once a player posses it. However, once the First atomic Weapon is dropped operationally, all other countries may acquire Atomic Technology by successfully rolling only one Atomic Technology attempt instead of three. Test detonations do not count as “operational” uses of Atomic Weapons.

3. To construct Atomic Weapons the player using the technology must purchase each weapon. Atomic Weapons can only be produced at Industrial Complexes. A single country may purchase no more than three atomic Weapons in a single turn. The first weapon purchased by each country is always used as a test detonation; this weapon has no effect on game play, but it must still be paid for. Note: Test detonations do not require a heavy bomber for conducting a test. The players simply state that they are conducting a test of the first weapon.

4. Only Heavy Bombers can deliver Atomic Bombs. Heavy Bombers may only carry one Atomic Weapon. The cost of rearming the Heavy Bomber (5 IPCs) must be paid in addition to the cost of the Atomic Weapon itself.

5. Costs for each player as follows:
Country Per Attempt Per Weapon
United States 6 IPC’s 6 IPC’s
Great Britain 7 IPC’s 6 IPC’s
Russia 10 IPC’s 9 IPC’s
Germany 7 IPC’s 7 IPC’s
Japan 9 IPC’s 10 IPC’s

6. Each Atomic bomb detonated on a Land Area inflicts 20 IPC’s worth of damage, destroying a minimum of at least three playing pieces. Units are destroyed in the following order: Infantry, U.S. Marines and Rangers, fighters, bombers, SS Panzergrenadiers, Soviet Guards, armored infantry, armor, SS Panzers, AA guns, submarine pens, and industrial complexes.

If a submarine pen is destroyed, all submarines contained within the pen are lost as well; the IPC values of the submarines in a pen do not count towards the Atomic Bomb’s total damage inflicted.

Other than submarines in pens, no other naval units located in sea zones adjacent to land areas, which are subjected to an Atomic Attack, are affected by the Bomb.

If the target area contains an industrial complex, no units may be built at that complex for one full turn. Any units on a territory that survived an Atom bomb attack may not move for one full turn. If attacked during this turn they defend at half of their normal value. On the turn immediately following the detonation, any Land Units that moved into or through a Land Area in which an Atomic Bomb was detonated, attack at half their value for that turn, but defend normally.
Areas which have been subjected to Atomic Attack lose 5 IPC’s of their value immediately; on the next turn following they regain 1 IPC. On the turn following they regain an additional 2 IPC’s. The 5 IPC’s lost can never be fully restored in the game once the Bomb has been dropped on an Area. A minus 2 IPC penalty is always applied to the Area. Note: Areas of 2 IPC’s or less would never e productive again.

The IPC penalty of bombed countries may be represented with control markers placed on the country upside down. The number of upside down control markers on the country would be equal to the IPC penalty to that country.

7. Each single Bomb detonated in a Sea zone inflicts 20 IPC’s worth of damage, or a minimum of three playing pieces. Units are destroyed in the following order: Transports, cruisers, fighters on carriers, air craft carriers, battleships and submarines. Any Land Units on transports are lost and do not count towards the Bomb’s IPC total damage. Sub pens and submarines in pens are not affected. Units, which survive an Atomic Bomb, suffer no further restrictions and move, attack and defend normally. Sea detonations have no further restrictions.

8. If units of several countries are present in a Land Area or Sea Zone, that suffered an Atomic Attack, the damage inflicted must be suffered equally by all the countries involved. If a country is assessed more damage than it has troops: then, any residual damage would go to the country with the extra troops.

Copyright 1990: Frank W. Zenau
(Revised 1992)
2nd Edition 3/93
3rd Edition 8/96
3.1 Edition 9/02
3.2 Edition 11/03

Edits: Charles Murray
Assistant Editor: Cha Cha
Optional rules thanks to: William Kendrick
Cover art and Map art: Frank W. Zenau and Eric Mayo

For rules questions send SASE to:
Xeno Games
3932 Charleston Rd.
Gandeeville, WV 25243